Springfield Symphony Orchestra: The Reformation

Date range

Springfield Symphony Orchestra Arts

On October 31, 1517 a monk named Martin Luther nailed his Ninety-Five Theses to the door of All Saints' Church in Wittenburg, Germany, and in so doing, set into motion the beginning of one of the most significant upheavals in Western religious history. To commemorate the 500th anniversary of the beginning of the Protestant Reformation, we will play Mendelssohn's Reformation Symphony with its meditation on the Lutheran hymn A Mighty Fortress. Bach composed prolifically for the Lutheran church, so we continue our Reformation theme with Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 3, and present Mozart's haunting Piano Concerto No. 20 with pianist Gabriela Martinez.


Gabriela Martinez in represented worldwide by Sciolino Artist Management

All Concerts take place at Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts,
525 S. John Q Hammons Parkway

Single Tickets: Call the Hammons Hall box office at 417-836-7678 or online at missouristatetix.com.

Location map