Springfield Symphony Orchestra Presents: Who Am I and Where Am I Going?

Springfield Symphony

Pre-Concert Lecture
6:30 pm

Pre-Concert Music
7:00 pm

Concert Performance
7:30 pm

At this concert, we pose these giant philosophical questions and hear artists’ responses through poetry and prose, nostalgia and naïveté, and some of the most beautiful and haunting melodies ever written for orchestra. We begin our concert with the prelude from the opera Hansel and Gretel, a tale which has at its heart the questions, “Who am I? Where am I going?” Then we move to Samuel Barber’s Knoxville: Summer of 1915, a reflective meditation on childhood, nostalgia, and self-awareness. Finally, we take on Gustav Mahler’s arresting and gorgeous Fourth Symphony, which muses on joy and innocence but gives way to much deeper and darker existential musings on life and death.

Single Tickets: Call the Hammons Hall box office at 417-836-7678 or online at missouristatetix.com.
Location map