Springfield Symphony Orchestra Presents: What Is My Fate?

Springfield Symphony

Pre-Concert Lecture
6:30 pm

Pre-Concert Music
7:00 pm

Concert Performance
7:30 pm

Tchaikovsky’s Sixth SymphonyThe Pathetique, has been interpreted variously as a suicide note, a requiem for a friend, and a meditation on life and fate. The title suggests emotion tinged with suffering, the Russian Orthodox requiem makes a brief but conspicuous appearance in the first movement, and the final movement, unlike many of the composer’s other works which end in pomp and celebration, ends in somber softness, suggesting the final dimming of the light and life-force. It is moving, powerful, and heart-breaking. We also welcome former Hellam Young Artists’ Competition winners Brian Hong and Alexander Hersh back to the stage to join us for Brahms’s beautiful Double Concerto for Violin and Cello.

Single Tickets: Call the Hammons Hall box office at 417-836-7678 or online at missouristatetix.com.
Location map